In poll commissioned by the NME and the Guiness Book Of Hit Singles, Oasis’s debut album ‘Definitely Maybe’ was voted the greatest album ever! This is the problem with public polls, idots vote for rubbish, just look at the single of the year winners! Oasis’s fans are ridiculously obsessed, as anyone trying to get tickets for last years V festival knows and will vote numerous times to get their band at the top. I know trying to pick a greatest album is hard as there have been so many but not Oasis, hey I like Oasis but i wouldn’t say that was the greatest album ever, it’s not even the best album of the last 10 years! The Top 20 looked like this:

1. ‘Definitely Maybe’ – Oasis

2. ‘Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band’ – The Beatles

3. ‘Revolver’ – The Beatles

4. ‘OK Computer’ – Radiohead

5. ‘(What’s The Story) Morning Glory?’ – Oasis

6. ‘Nevermind’ – Nirvana

7. ‘The Stone Roses’ – The Stone Roses

8. ‘Dark Side Of The Moon’ – Pink Floyd

9. ‘The Queen Is Dead’ – The Smiths

10. ‘The Bends’ – Radiohead

11. ‘The Joshua Tree’ – U2

12. ‘London Calling’ – The Clash

13. ‘The Beatles (The White Album)’ – The Beatles

14. ‘Abbey Road’ – The Beatles

15. ‘Up The Bracket’ – The Libertines

16. ‘Never Mind The Bollocks Here’s The Sex Pistols’ – Sex Pistols

17. ‘Four Symbols (Led Zeppelin IV)’ – Led Zeppelin

18. ‘The Rise And Fall Of Ziggy Stardust And The Spiders From Mars’ – David Bowie

19. ‘A Night At The Opera’ – Queen

20. ‘Is This It’ – The Strokes

As you can see a large proportion of the list are great albums, though I’m not surprised The Libertines are on there, as the NME have made Druggy Doherty into a cult figure, and some people believe everything they read in the mag. Also I wouldn’t have The Strokes in there, a good album but not great! So what would be my greatest album I hear you ask, as I am so ready to slag off this list, well the answer is I don’t know! I do love Sgt Peppers but I also love OK Computer and Ziggy Stardust as well as a lot of albums not on the above list. Sorry I know thats a cop out. So what are your favourites? Put them in the comments, I would love to hear them.

