help.jpg

Help Me Please – Hard-Fi (lp. Help. A Day In The Life)

I was just driving home from work and this song came on, on a compilation CD I made back in July and I forgot how good it was.  One of many good tracks on the Warchild album,  this sees the band toned down from their usual rock sound. The first time I ever heard Hard-Fi was on Gonzo I think and they were doing an acoustic version of album track, Stars Of CCTV. That performance showed a surprising softer side and so with this track, which gives a real emotional tone to the song especially in the context of the album it comes off.  As the cd came out earlier this year you can now pick it up very cheap on sites like Play.com, it is well worth a purchase, also featuring new tracks from Coldplay, Radiohead,  Razorlight, Bloc Party, a couple of fun covers from Keane and the Kaiser Chiefs and a really great new Gorillaz track as well. Don’t let the charity album tag scare you off!

