With only a few days till the big day, I thought I would chime in with a selection of films that I usually watch at Christmas, some obvious and some not so, but all fit in with the festive period.

Scrooged (1988)

scrooged

It’s strangely become a Christmas tradition for me over the last few years and it wasn’t intentional. Every Christmas eve I now sit on my living room floor and wrap my presents whilst watching Scrooged. I love this film, there are many versions of A Christmas Carol, (I shall come back to that later) but this one always makes me laugh and feel festive at the same time. Bill Murray is great as the scrooge Frank Cross, the TV executive who has become a cold calculating TV executive who cares more about his big TV productions than his staff and family. Obviously he is taught a lesson by the Christmas spirits, especially the brilliant sadistic Carol Kane as the ghost of Christmas Present.  It looks a little dated, A VHS Player, but if you have never seen this film, watch it now.

Die Hard (1988)

die hard

Right some of you are saying “That’s not a Christmas film”, well you are wrong! Think back to the film, where is John McClane going, his wifes Christmas party, there are decorations on the desk in the computer room that get obliterated by Grubers’ thugs, Karl’s dead brother in the lift with the Santa hat and HO HO HO, now I have a machine gun, written on his top.  The film even ends with ‘Let It Snow’. Have already watched it this Christmas, makes a good break from some of the more smultzy films.

Gremlins (1984)

gremlins

Another film not thought of as Christmassy, but this one couldn’t be more if it tried. The setting for the film, Kingston Falls looks like strangely similar to Bedford Falls the setting of the classic Christmas film, It’s A Wonderful Life. Again like Die hard it is set at Christmas, but this one even has snowmen, Christmas trees and even talk of Santa, though Phoebe Cates story of Father Christmas has a slightly darker end!  It’s a great film to watch any time of year but watch it at Christmas!

Miracle On 34th Street (1994)

miracle

Okay, finally a proper nice Christmas film. I have to admit I have never seen the original version and it’s probably blasphemy not to have, but I was working at the cinema the year this came out, and watched it a many times, but even now I still enjoy watching it. Yes its a bit sacarine, but it’s Christmas and you need something a bit sweet as well, and Richard Attenborough is great as Chris Kringle.

The Muppets Christmas Carol (1992)

muppets xmas

We have already had the Bill Murray version of A Christmas Carol, well of you want a more traditional version you can’t go wrong with this one. I say traditional, Ice Skating penguins and rats in hula skirts, yes it’s the Muppets, but they treat the main story with a great deal of respect and Michael Caine as Ebenezer Scrooge is brilliant, when he see’s what he has become near the end his performance is heart breaking. In fact when I finish writing this article I am going to go on Netflix and watch it!

The Nightmare Before Christmas (1993)

nightmare

Henry Selicks’ gothic Christmas classic is a film full of beautiful animation and amazing songs. Featuring Danny Elfman as the voice of Jack Skellington, you will have the songs, especially ‘What’s This?’ rattling round your head hours after you finish watching it. I have the 3D version ready to watch!

Bad Santa (2003)

bad santa

It wouldn’t be right at Christmas to not have a good laugh, and this film does just that. Billy Bob Thornton is great as safe cracker Willie, drinking his way through the annoying kids to get that big pay day on Christmas eve. It’s a film that is crude and very rude, but also manages to have a heart, the dynamic between Willie and Thurman is surprisingly touching. Also notable as the last film of John Ritter, good film to end a career on.

Elf (2003)

elf

I actually ended up watching this yesterday, hadn’t planned to but saw it has just started on Sky Movies so flicked over. Will Ferrell is so good in this film, his childlike innocence is perfect, then throw that into the cynical world of New York and you have a great film. The beautiful Zooey Deschannel always makes this another reason for me to watch it as well! Also people don’t realise this was directed by Jon Faverau who went on to make the first two Iron Man films!

A few other notable films,

Lethal Weapon, Iron Man 3, Long Kiss Goodnight and Kiss Kiss Bang Bang. All the work of writer Shane Black, who always sets his film at Christmas.

Classics, Home Alone, Home Alone 2: Lost In New York, It’s A Wonderful Life.

oh The Family Man a nice alternative reality Christmas film with Nicolas Cage.

Well thanks for reading, let me know any I have forgot, which I’m sure I have, and Have A very Merry Christmas!

