Image

I was lucky enough to see the original Anchorman at a free preview screening back in 2004, didn’t know much about it going in, came out with one of my all time favourite films. I have watched it many times and it still makes me laugh and I’ve got to the sad point where I am saying some of the jokes before they even come on the screen. I have even watched the outtakes movie, Wake Up Ron Burgundy a few times as well. Like many other big fans of the film, and this films seems to have been growing in popularity over the years, I have been hoping for further adventures from Ron, Brian, Champ and Brick. There were a few occasions where it looked like it was going to happen and there was even talk of it being a musical, but the chances were looking bleak. Then last year came the news, Yes! they were coming back, so I have been waiting all year, in fact this was probably my most anticipated film of the year, but did it live up to my huge levels of hope?

Yes and no.

It’s 10 years later and Ron and Veronica are still co-anchors, and all is still bliss they even have a son called Walter, but a career opportunity comes Veronica’s way and Ron’s life hits the skids again!  Soon though Ron is getting the team together as they head for New York to be part of the schedule of the worlds first 24 hour news channel, GNN. Soon they are dealing with fitting into a world that has changed dramatically since they were bringing the news to the city of the Whales vagina.  As well as dealing with a multi cultural workplace, Ron find himself in competition with the stations star Anchorman, Jack Lime, slimily played by James Marsden (who apparently auditioned for a role in the original).

This film has the same random laughs as the first film, but feels a little bit stretched in it’s 2 hour running time, but laugh I did and a lot. There were a few occasions where I missed some of the lines because I was still laughing at a previous joke. A lot of the best jokes come from Brick, who’s role has been beefed up considerably in this one, he even gets a love interest in the form of Kristen Wiig’s, equally challenged Chani. Unfortunately with Brick’s role being upped, Brian and Champ have been pushed to the back a bit, though Brian’s new cupboard of items will require multiple viewings to catch all the names. There are a few bits that don’t work as well, Ron’s dinner party with new love interest, Linda Jackson, has a few laughs but some verge on offensive, though I still found it funny. The scenes with Ron and his son are pretty funny, “I’m Lace man” and the story does take some rather random turns,  Doby’s song being a very random, but extremely funny one. Obviously it wouldn’t be an Anchorman film without a battle of the Anchors, but I won’t spoil it for you.  The one part of the film I didn’t expect was the quite biting look at the state of news reporting in the modern era, behind all the jokes there is a very smart comment on the stories for ratings culture that exists now, car chases replacing hard hitting journalism.

I went into this film with such high expectations that it was never going to reach, but it came pretty close. As I said earlier I really could do with seeing it again to try and catch all the jokes. It is one of the funniest films I have seen this year and had me laughing out loud on many occasions, worryingly sometimes I was the only one laughing. There are some brilliant jokes in it and a few nice nods for the die hard fans of the original, should they do another one, I’m not sure. Interestingly they are talking about releasing a new version of the film where due to all the improv they can change all the jokes. That will hopefully be released on the blu ray like they did with Wake Up Ron Burgundy. A brilliant piece of comedy which also has something to say, in the words of Brick, I Love Film.

