As is the way, as we start a new year, we look back at the year that has passed. For Christmas 2012 I was bought a cinema gift card, the perfect gift for a film nerd like me (received another one this year!). So as 2013 began I saw a lot of films, some I probably wouldn’t have paid for, and some I definitely would have. Now follows is a look at the films I got off my backside and went to the cinema to see, as there were a lot I shall break it down into a few parts. You will notice I have actually put the dates I saw the films, this is because I actually keep all my tickets and last year with a pile of them sitting around I decided to frame them, 3 big frames worth! For note they go from 1989 Batman to The Worlds End 2013.

cinema tickets

Well on with the show.!

The Life Of Pi 3D 8/1/12

life of pi

When I first saw the trailer for this I thought, “That’s ridiculous a kid wouldn’t survive with a tiger on a boat, he’d be eaten”. I don’t know what changed my mind but I decided to check it out, and I was glad I did. A beautiful film both in visuals and story, I was thoroughly gripped and must admit was a bit teary eyed at the end. The 3D was also amazing especially the flying fish sequence and the scene off the above poster. Watched it at home in 3D and it’s still amazing viewing.

Les Miserables 14/1/12

les miserables

I’m not a big fan of musicals, okay you could call The Blues Brothers a musical I suppose, but apart from that I think Moulin Rouge is one of the few I’ve seen.  I got talking to one of my customers while on delivery and he knew I was a film fan and asked whether I was gonna watch Les Mis, I said probably not, his response was, “oh you must, if you don’t cry you are cold” something along those lines. As a fan of Hugh Jackman and the lovely Anne Hathaway, I thought what the hell, so off I trotted. Well I really enjoyed it, loved the music and the massive scale of the production, thought the performances were great and even Russell Crowe’s singing wasn’t as bad as I expected. My customer was right, again I teared up!  (Where’s the action films to make me to sound more manly!). I have since got the film on Blu ray and enjoyed it equally as much.

Jack Reacher 15/1/12

jack reacher

Tom Cruise gets a lot of shit from the media, mainly because of his religious (?) beliefs, but as an actor I have to say I am a big fan, I don’t think he has done that many bad films. When it was announced he was tackling the Jack Reacher film, One Shot, there was a huge backlash from the fans of the book. This was mainly due to the size difference between Cruise and the character of Reacher who in the books is 6ft 5. Having never read the books I was just looking forward to a crime drama, and it is a great drama film. The story is really gripping with some nice twists and turns, and actually holds up in repeated viewings.  Thought Tom was good and there is a strong supporting cast as well. I know a fan of the books who actually enjoyed it as well.

Django Unchained 22/1/13

Django Unchained

A new Quentin Tarantino film is always a big event, and Django Unchained certainly lived up to it. His first film since 2009’s Inglorious Basterds, it had been a long wait, and Quentin tackling the western genre was an exciting prospect. As we come from to expect from Tarantino, it was a mix of scintillating dialogue and violence, with the usual excellent soundtrack. With great performances from Jamie Foxx, Leonardo Di Caprio and especially Christophe Waltz, who won his 2nd Oscar from a Tarantino film. Some said it was too long, but I have to say I’ve seen it twice and neither time did I feel it dragged. The only downer on the film was Quentin’s Aussie accent!

The Impossible 22/1/13

the impossible

You may notice next to the title, that I saw this the same day as Django Unchained. The cinema I visit, is an Empire Cinema, and they have a great policy of not charging ridiculous prices to see films, and on a Tuesday it’s only £3 a film, so on occasion I will watch a couple of films. On this day, I had come out of Django and thought I quite fancy seeing something else, and The Impossible was about to start so I thought lets do it. Didn’t know much about it other than it was about the terrible Tsunami of 2004. With Naomi Watts and Ewan McGregor who I both find very watchable, I sat and was transfixed as the story of a family ripped apart by a terrible natural disaster played out. The tsunami sequence was visually amazing and upsetting at the same time, in fact a girl sat in front of me nearly threw up at Watts’s injuries. She gave a great performance and her son played by Tom Holland was exceptional.  It managed to avoid being too saccharine, and yes I teared up a bit near the end!

Zero Dark Thirty 28/1/13

zero dark thirty

When I went to see Kathryn Bigelow’s previous film, Oscar winner, The Hurt Locker, I was the only person in the cinema, certainly not the case with Zero Dark Thirty. This film was already being written before Bin Laden was killed, so when he was taken out, they had the dramatic ending for the film. The film got wrapped up in a row about it’s depictions of torture, which is a shame as it distracted people away from what was a tense and very interesting story about one woman’s obsession with finding the worlds most wanted man. The raid sequence while extremely tense is played totally straight without the usual bombastic bravado we get in most films about the military. It was a shame that the controversy over shadowed what should have been an awards winner.

The Last Stand 31/1/13

The Last Stand

Following his small appearances in The Expendables films, this was Arnie’s big return to the genre he helped define in the 80’s and 90’s. The story of a small town sheriff left between an escaped drug kingpin and the border. It didn’t break new ground but was a fun and dumb action film, with Arnie on good form, killing bad guys and quipping away. It was surprisingly quite bloody as well.

Lincoln 5/2/13

 

lincoln

If you have read any of my posts in the past, you will know that I am a huge Steven Spielberg fan and will try and see every film he puts out. A lot of the buzz about the film was the performance of Oscar magnet, Daniel Day Lewis as the 16th president, and for once the hype was right. You forget very quickly that you are watching an actor, he inhabits the role. He’s helped by a great supporting cast including Sally Field and Tommy Lee Jones. It also had a bit of the West Wing vibe to it with a lot of the film being about the background goings on off American politics and Government.

Wreck It Ralph 3D 11/2/13

wreck it ralph

As a gamer, I was really looking forward to this film, watching it I realised I don’t know as much as I think I do about games,  as I didn’t spot that many of the numerous hidden and not so hidden references.  The story of the game bad guy wanting to be good worked so well, especially the bad guys anonymous scene. The only disappointment was that they seemed to spend too much time in the Sugar Rush land, there was a lot of potential different worlds they could have visited, but maybe that will be in the sequel. John C Reilly was the perfect choice for the voice of Ralph and I was impressed with Sarah Silverman’s work on a character that could have been easily very annoying. The 3D was also exceptional, especially in the Halo like battle game world of Hero’s Duty.

A Good Day To Die Hard 26/2/13

A Good Day to Die Hard

If you read my Christmas films feature recently, you know how much I love Die Hard. It is one of my all time favourite films and easily one of the best action films ever made, but the last few films are starting to taint it’s memory. Die Hard 4.0 was a softened down money making exercise, but it had it’s moments and wasn’t terrible, just average. It’s the same with this 5th instalment, but now it seems like even Bruce Willis doesn’t really give a shit, he sleep walks his way through the film, which it has to be said has some good action sequences, the chase through Moscow being one of them, but it just doesn’t feel right. I really hope they don’t do another one, if they do, they need to remember where it all started and stop going bigger, it isn’t always best.

